ARRMA Durango Ltd Cookie Policy
At Team Durango, we're serious about racing! We're also serious about giving you the best user experience possible when using our website, and to do this we need to use 'cookies'. By continuing to use our website you are implying your consent for us to use cookies. You can read all about what we use cookies for here.

November 11, 2010

DEX410 is South African National Champion (again!)

Filed under: News — Team Durango UK @ 3:16 pm

Team Durango’s South African partner, Jaco van Eeden (HobbyFreaks), sent us this race report:

“Bushveld model racing, situated in Limpopo, South Africa, hosted the fourth and final leg of the South African Championship on the 30-31 October.  A total of 87 entries made up the field of drivers.  There were 14 drivers participating in 4wd modified of which there were a total of six Dex410 and Dex410R drivers.  In the A main, five of the 10 cars were Team Durango drivers.  There were also two Team Durango drivers in the A main 4wd stock class with Pieter van Eeden qualifying in 3rd and Dirk Badenhorst in 6th.

As the Qualifying started, it was clear that the DEX410/410R was the car to beat.  Jaco van Eeden set the pace in the first qualifier with the fastest time followed by Charles Hollander. These positions remained the same in the second qualifier.  In the second heat, Jaco van Eeden did the only 15 lapper for the weekend with a sub 24 second lap.

The Team Durango drivers qualified as follows:
1st – Jaco van Eeden
2nd – Charles Hollander
4th – Niel Wanvig
6th – Werner Golomobick
10th – Riaan Opperman

Sunday morning saw the start of the A mains with some bad luck on Jaco van Eeden’s side as he had some problems with his lipo batteries as well as tyre problems which resulted him in having the fifth spot overall for the weekend.  Charles Hollander took first place in the second and third A Mains, being very consistent with his Team Durango DEX410.  A new Team Durango driver, Neil Wanvig finished fourth overall. He progressed from a previous B main result to a fourth spot in the A main, a direct result from changing to a Team Durango DEX410R!  Also, Daniel du Toit, new to RC racing and a new Team Durango DEX410R driver, started in the Jurassic class and qualified in fourth position, ending in the third spot overall.

Despite his fifth place at this race, Jaco van Eeden became the overall winner of the SA Championship, with Charles Hollander in overall third position.  We at Team Durango SA have had a very good year and we look forward to a great racing season next year.

Go Team Durango!!!!”

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Your local Team Durango distributor
T: 217-398-3630
F: 217-398-1104
Great Planes Model Distributors
1608 Interstate Drive
IL 61822, USA