ARRMA Durango Ltd Cookie Policy
At Team Durango, we're serious about racing! We're also serious about giving you the best user experience possible when using our website, and to do this we need to use 'cookies'. By continuing to use our website you are implying your consent for us to use cookies. You can read all about what we use cookies for here.

December 11, 2012

South African National Championships, Round 4.

Filed under: News — Team Durango UK @ 2:55 pm

Team Durango South Africa racer Jaco Van Eeden sent us this report from the fourth and final round of the SA 2012 national championship:

“ The National event was held on the 14th and 15th October 2012 in Polokwane, South Africa.

Friday’s practice day started well but the arrival of rain meant the end of practice as the wet weather was here to stay for the day.  Upon arrival at the track on Saturday, we were greeted with a very wet track; quite different to what we are used to, so the car’s setup had to change totally.

The three qualifying rounds ended well for Team Durango drivers, with TQ in 4WD being
juggled between Jaco van Eeden and Eben Coetzee. It came down to the last round where Jaco van Eeden took TQ in 4WD with his DEX410v3.

Jaco also took the TQ position in the 2WD class with his DEX210 and in the Short Course class with his DESC410Rv2.

Sunday’s weather brought perfect race day conditions, cloudy and cool. Track temperatures at last year’s nationals in Polokwane reached a scorching 48 degrees celsius, so the cool weather was welcomed by all marshals.

The first round of finals in 4WD, 2WD and Short Course was won by Jaco van Eeden. The second round saw Jaco take the win for 4WD and Short Course with Eben taking the 2WD win.

In the third round Jaco took the win again in 4WD, and needed to take the win in 2WD to win the event, but after leading the entire race he made a crucial mistake on the last lap and lost the win to a fellow club racer. Jaco  also took the win in Short Course.

In 4WD Stock-class we had a new and upcoming driver who has only been racing for one year, Llewellyn Grobler. He qualified in third position (DEX410v3) with Gareth Lambert (DEX410v3) in sixth position. Team Durango drivers Pieter van Eeden  (DEX410v3) qualified in eighth position and Juandre Nel  (DEX410v3) qualified in tenth position.

We also had the new Stadium Truck race for the first time. DEST210R driver Marius Venter qualified in second position and finished the race in third overall.

Team  Durango driver Eben Coetzee took top position for the year in 2WD (DEX210) and 4WD (DEX410V3) with Jaco van Eeden finishing the South African championship in second place in 2WD (DEX210) and 4WD (DEX410V3).

Since the release of Team Durango cars in 2009, Team Durango has been the winning car at every National event in 2WD and 4WD, making it the most consistent car.”

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Your local Team Durango distributor
T: 217-398-3630
F: 217-398-1104
Great Planes Model Distributors
1608 Interstate Drive
IL 61822, USA